Four EHPS Educators Named Fund For Teachers Fellows
Posted on 03/30/2022
Fund for Teachers Logo

Four EHPS Educators Selected as Fund For Teachers Fellows

East Hartford Public Schools congratulates four district educators who were selected as 2022 Fund For Teachers (FFT) Fellows. This prestigious program provides public school educators with grants for summer fellowships and experiential learning opportunities to bring back to their students.

 The 2022 FFT Fellows are Anthony Bergstrom and Kimberly Shaker from East Hartford High School, Lindsay Bonaldo from Silver Lane Elementary School, and Maritza Soto-DeJesus from Pitkin Elementary School. They join 60 EHPS teachers who have previously been selected as FFT fellows.

 Read more about their exciting summer fellowships below:


Anthony Bergstrom: While exploring the historic geography of the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park, research the history of the Native American people's to engage students in the study of indigenous cultures, Westward Expansion and the Progressive Era.

Anthony Bergstrom FFT

Lindsay Bonaldo: Engage with Parisian architectural and artist sites through drawing, photography and art history to inspire students' development of artistic ideas with deeper meaning, community connections and real world application.

Lindsay Bonaldo FFT

Maritza Soto-DeJesus: Complete David A. Treleaven's Trauma-Sensitive Mindfulness Training in Rhinebeck, NY, to develop lessons that support students' awareness and embodiment of the connection between emotions, thoughts, and bodily sensations, to better manage emotions that impact behavior, stress, relationships, and ability to focus.

Maritza Soto-DeJesus FFT

Kimberly Shaker: Explore the connection between classic performance and experiential art in England and Scotland to promote student inquiry that analyzes how music, literature, art, and performance work together to cultivate, sustain, and define (as well as redefine) culture.