EHPS Announces New Principal of Mayberry Elementary School
Posted on 06/12/2024
Angela Hewins

East Hartford Public Schools is pleased to announce Angela Hewins will be the new principal of Franklin H. Mayberry School. Hewins is currently serving the school district as a Supervisor of Special Education. She will begin her new role on July 1.

Hewins has 18 years of education and leadership experience including roles as a Vice Principal, Interim Principal and Special Education Teacher. She joined East Hartford Public Schools in 2018 as a Special Education Teacher at Joseph O. Goodwin Elementary School. During that time, she was selected to serve as Interim Principal to cover a medical leave and was chosen as the school’s Teacher of the Year for the 2024-2025 school year. She was promoted to Supervisor of Special Education this February.

Prior to joining EHPS, Hewins was a Vice Principal for schools in Honokaa and Kamuela, Hawaii for 5 years. Originally from Manchester, CT, Hewins received bachelor’s degrees in both Elementary/Special Education and Geography from Keene State College. She earned her master’s in Educational Leadership from Chaminade University of Honolulu and a doctoral certificate in Educational Leadership from University of Phoenix.

Superintendent Thomas Anderson said, “Hewins has proven herself as a skilled leader here in East Hartford and in her previous career roles. With her background in special education as a foundation, she is committed to equity and serving the diverse needs of all students. We know she will be a great addition to the Mayberry School community.”

Franklin H. Mayberry School is public, neighborhood elementary school in East Hartford, Connecticut serving approximately 320 kindergarten through fifth grade students.